Christ Revealed

Bible Study Monday

       So I know everyone is on Christmas break. Student-wise. I remember experiencing finals week and thinking to myself, “Man, I cannot wait to catch up on sleep and do absolutely nothing on break”. That’s what I did. At least for the first few days. I slept all day it seemed. I can’t even tell you what I did those first few days because I do not remember. I was asleep half the time. But, after I caught up on sleep, those next few days I started doing things because I always get bored and agitated if I am not up and doing something. I guess it is because I am so used to doing things when I am at school. I have two jobs and I am in 4 different clubs while juggling classes and a social life. Busy bee, that’s me. That’s not the point though, the point is is that I actually felt happy being able to read a book for once or even watch an episode or two of Grey’s Anatomy. Why? Because I haven’t done anything for ME in a while. This Christmas break, I learned that despite life’s heavy work load and crazy situations, I still need to find time for me.

       Also, I made a new friend as Christmas break started to appear. My guy friend, (we’ll call him Sam for certain purposes) Sam helped guide me back to Christ. As college started, I started to struggle with maintaining a relationship with Christ. I started losing “relax” time due to how busy I am and I started to think reading the bible, praying, and worshiping Him was more of a job than a natural thing. So I started to stray from Him. I started doing things MY way because I wanted to control my life. I wanted to already know what was going to happen in my future. But Sam showed me how it is impossible for me to know my own future when God has control. I might not want to accept that God has control, but He ultimately does. I can think I am controlling my life all I want, but those curveballs? Those are God’s doing to show me that I am not the ruler of my life. If I was the ruler of my life, I would be a very unhappy person because I’d focus all my time on my future and not me in present time working to achieve my future goals. Sam showed me that as hard as it is to open up and be real with God and others, it heals you. It heals you because God’s presence and listening ear is comforting enough. You feel an immediate satisfaction getting your problems off your chest. The other thing I learned this Christmas break, is to make time for God just like I would make time for myself. It won’t be that hard once I get used to it.

Leave a Reply

